I want to ‘Go With Oh’ to London!

10 Dec

“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.”

– Martin Buber

You know what excites me most about visiting London?  Yes, seeing the big attractions like the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace, Big Pen, Parliament, etc… sets my heart a flutter with anticipation, but it’s the small things that bring butterflies to my stomach.

I imagine myself getting off the plane at Heathrow and shedding tears of joy due to the fact that after countless years of dreaming, my time to cross the Atlantic has arrived.  And so the adventure will begin…

I want nothing more than to squeeze my toes between fresh grass in Hyde Park while sitting in a deck chair along the Serpentine basking in the glory of where I am.  Feeling the sun hit my face while holding my husbands hand, I will give it a squeeze – an unspoken gesture signally my utter happiness.  In no rush, when we are ready, we will seek out more sites.  Where to go? Who knows, it is all up in the air and that is an amazing feeling – so freeing to have endless possibilities in front of me.

Maybe we will wander into Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese so I can finally experience what it feels like to sit in a building that has been around since the 1500’s, or perhaps my feet will take me to the Athenaeum Hotel where I will let my lips indulge in all the wonderful tasty delights that an afternoon tea brings.

What to do next…I know – act like a big kid!  Did you know there are slides at the Tate Modern and that you can actually play in them?  This is something that the 5-year-old in me will not be able to a pass up.  I can already feel my smile reaching my eyes as I am whizzing downwards in joy – dare I say it may be the best museum ever!

Speaking of museums, a trip to the The British Museum will be a must on my to see list, but not for the usual reasons.  Yes, I am sure that there are thousands of jaw-dropping relics to be seen, but the only thing I want to see are my husbands eyes as he enters the front door.  For years, visiting The British Museum has been on his bucket list and it will warm my heart to know that a dream of his is being fulfilled.

Oh dreams – that reminds me!  One year a friend brought home a purse from Harrods, you know the one with the cute bear on it.  Ever since that day I have dreamt of crossing the pond to get my own.  So to Harrods I will go. I will wander the aisles and let my fingers graze all the fine linens as I thank my lucky stars for the chance to do so.

Visiting places that you have only seen in books or visualized are of course a highlight of any trip, but you know what is just as good?  Making new friends in foreign lands.  I can’t wait for the opportunity to talk to the locals and visiting travelers as I ride along the bus to see Stonehenge.  Sharing excitement over a common destination with other people is part of the fun and it is something that is a must do when you are on vacation.  You never know who you will meet, how many lifelong friends you will get, and what memories you will make when you are brave enough to say “hi”.

Now that I have my new friends, I am going to drag them to the one place that I know will make my trip complete and it is just a short jaunt from London – all for a photo.  Ever since I saw Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley I imagined myself at Chatsworth House having a picture taken of me kissing my husband in front of the fountains just like Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy.  This is a memory that I will hold dear for the rest of my life.

What makes a good trip?  Everyone has a different answer, but for me it as about the small stuff that comes out of the big stuff.  I can’t wait to visit Westminster Abbey, but I also can’t wait to find a secret door…you get the picture.  Sometimes it’s those moments that are the most magical.

You have just read about my dream trip to London, want to win your own?  Visit Go With Oh for your own chance.  Good luck and happy traveling!

Crystal

2 Responses to “I want to ‘Go With Oh’ to London!”

  1. gowithohallison December 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Crystal, what a lovely post about your dream trip to London! So precious you’d love to share these memories with your husband, and no judgement from us on your desire to go to Tate Modern, what a fun idea! Thank you so much for your entry, and good luck with our contest!

Leave a Reply

