Wayfarers Chapel – Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.

16 Jul

You have got to go here…Wayfarers Chapel – Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.

People often ask me where I find all the fun and unusual places I visit – and honestly my inspiration comes from everywhere.  I may get a wild hair to visit a new city, or discover a hidden gem in a blog…you just never know where you may find your next adventure.  I am not ashamed to admit that my trip to the Wayfarers Chapel was brought on by watching Beverly Hills 90210 (the new one).  On the finale of this season, a big dramatic wedding was taking place, but all I could think about was the amazing chapel they were in.  It was indoors, but it looked like it was outdoors – it was magnificent.  Within minutes (thank you internet) I had discovered what was to be my next adventure!

As a warning I must admit that this blog may be more plog (picture blog 🙂 ).  I will tease you with one picture and I know you will want to see more!

Located off Palos Verdes Drive South, Wayfarers has ample parking and is FREE to visit.  Whether you want to attend church, hold a wedding, marvel at amazing architecture, meditate in the gardens, or just spend the day discovering something new…this is the place for you!

Start at the visitors center……and for a $.50 donation you can purchase a guided walking tour map – I highly recommend this.

There is no rhyme or reason to your tour.  I wanted to save the chapel for last, so I started in the gardens. 

My first stop was the soothing waterfall above.  Listening to the stream was glorious!

Next, the Meditation Garden and Terraced Amphitheatre – both are great places to sit, reflect and enjoy the moment.

The view is STUNNING!  I could have stayed here all day just looking out into the crystal-blue waters of the Pacific Ocean.

I know I always say this, but really…take your time and enjoy where you are.  This is honestly one of the most beautiful spots in Southern California that I have visited.

When you are ready, proceed to the Front Lawn (it looks like a fairytale) and take time to stop at the Reflection Pool.

This is also a great place to take a breath and look towards the sea!

Drum roll please -my final stop…The Chapel!  Guarded by nature…it literally feels like you are outside – one with the greenery around you.  In actuality, you are indoors, but could never tell.  Wayfarers was designed by Lloyd Wright (son of Frank Lloyd Wright) who took inspiration from redwood trees when planning the architecture of the chapel.

Oh, how I didn’t want to leave….

There are so many beautiful features, and nooks to be discovered in the chapel that pictures just don’t do them justice – that is why I am recommending you run to this piece of heaven on earth to see for your very own eyes!

The grounds are open Monday – Sunday from 10 a.m until 5 p.m., but the chapel may be in use so make sure to call ahead to see if there is an event on the day you are visiting.

One more thing – there are signs everywhere so make sure you keep your eyes open!

Happy Chapeling,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

